The Austrian Federal Government

The Cabinet is entrusted with the highest administrative duties of the Republic of Austria. The Cabinet is composed of the Federal Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor, and the other Federal Ministers. As a collegiate branch of government it executes only those duties which have been expressly entrusted to it by law (or upon decree by the Federal President). All other governmental duties reside with the ministers of the responsible ministry. The Cabinet’s most important constitutional responsibility is its function to pass bills. The Cabinet passes resolutions unanimously. There is no majority decision making.

Members of the Cabinet, see description below

Faymann Cabinet II Front row (from left): Alois Stöger, Sophie Karmasin, Gabriele Heinisch-Hosek, Werner Faymann, Reinhold Mitterlehner, Johanna Mikl-Leitner, Sabine Oberhauser, Wolfgang Brandstetter
Back row (from left): Sonja Steßl, Andrä Rupprechter, Josef Ostermayer, Gerald Klug, Rudolf Hundstorfer, Johann Georg Schelling und Harald Mahrer
Not shown in this picture: Sebastian Kurz, Hans Peter Doskozil, Wolfgang Sobotka

Larger view
(© BKA/Andy Wenzel)

On 16nd December 2013, the new Austrian Federal Government Faymann II was sworn in by Federal President Heinz Fischer.